Studio

  • design-creates-identity
  • kurz-kurz-design_team_schmal_12.2017
  • titel-modellbau
  • titel-sketching
  • twin1731_sw3

STUDIO

From market and trend analysis to creating and specifying persuasive design concepts until the final market launch, Kurz Kurz Design covers the entire process with passion and precision.

KURZ KURZ DESIGN

Since 1992 we have been design partners with renowned national and international companies; creative and professional alike.

Based in Solingen, also known as the “Klingenstadt”, we develop single products, entire product families as well as comprehensive design strategies for our clients with a interdisciplinary team and a network of partners. With a department in China we have also been offering professional support for the Asian market since 2012.

Setting ourselves a high demand regarding aesthetics, functionality and attention to detail, ideas and drafts are transformed into desirable products. The unique identity provides for long-term success.
We call that “design creates identity”

Skills

Consulting & Strategy

Kurz Kurz Design offers its clients a large range of services; including helping adjust brand directions and defining product portfolios. The focus lies on strategic long-term planning with target group orientation for a brand’s sustainable success.

“Corporate Product Design” is the ultimate motive for us. A consistent design connects all products of a band with much needed distinctiveness. For our customer we create tailored and trendsetting styles, which express competence of the brand, leading to a unique experience.

“To set new impulses for the future, prevailing convictions have to be questioned.”

In close interaction with our clients we can determine new needs and potentials through the analysis of brands and markets. The creation of new ideas and visions result in the development of innovative products.

Product Design

“The product is a brand’s most powerful ambassador due to its strong connection to the customer. Therefore it should be unique and distinctive.”

In harmony with the brand and the customer we create innovative design solutions. From children’s cutlery to bathroom series and from solar powered LED light to high efficiency pumps we have proven this.

Thereby, we believe in simple and modern designs with unite function and emotion. Our thorough analysis and attention to detail add the exceptional quality of a product or an entire product family. We strive for long-lasting satisfaction with our customers and therefore long-term success on the market.

We emphasise on integrated design and we know successful design means more than just delivering aesthetics. It’s about the methods of production, marketing and sales of a client, as well as choosing the right materials and guaranteeing functionality.

Interface Design

Products should be based on simple and user-friendly operating concepts. To simplify the complex man-machine interaction, our user interfaces are accessible and can be controlled intuitively. This applies to digital as well as for analogue interfaces. Together with our customers we analyse behaviour patterns and develop layouts and operating procedures based on individual requirements.

By brainstorming innovative and achievable concepts we achieve user-orientated design in harmony to the brand and the product.

Through interviews and video recordings we identify the thought process and behavioural pattern of a target group and analyse them in detail. The thrilling transition from analogue to the digital world requires transferring deep-rooted and traditional processes into new ones that are just as intuitive but offer new possibilities.

From user interface to product design, we conceptualise individual integrated design solutions to grab the user at first sight and support them while handling the product.

CAD & Prototyping

See & Touch: The development of successful and efficient design ideas require model making as well as CAD-visualisation.
Simple models made of Styrofoam, other industrial foams or cardboard are used to assess and improve concepts at an early stage.

Whether it’s a kitchen knife of bath tub, school backpack or heater, the evaluation of form, ergonomics and texture of the surface takes place in multiple steps – with a 3D model always at hand. A preliminary sketch is followed by detailing until the final draft. First “handmade models,” then via “rapid prototyping".

Projects take shape by continuously exchanging 3D-data with our customers’ development departments and other partners for an efficient workflow. Technological changes and new possibilities or requirements are incorporated into the process and subsequently the design is modified and visualised. This workflow and interchange of information reassures our clients, as well as our Team, of a successful product design process.

Research & Analysis

A product development process includes important steps, such as trend and market research, design conception detailing in 3D and market launch at the point of sale. During the entire development process we accompany our clients with passion and precision.

With more than 25 years of experience Kurz Kurz Design possesses a large database from brands, markets, targets groups, trends, materials, surfaces, technologies and production processes.

This knowledge is constantly widened by new projects, visits to fairs, research through different types of media (magazines, internet and social media) and reflecting on social trends and the changing needs of society.

Mood-boards and mind maps are essential tools to visualise new information. These tools make it easy to comprehend for all involved, the topic and direction of a project. Together with our clients we analyse behavioural patterns though video recordings and interviews.

Team

Dorian Kurz

Dipl. Designer
Folkwang University of the Arts, Essen
Stuttgart State University of Art and Design, Stuttgart
1988 - 92 Phoenix Design, Stuttgart

Interests: Alfa Romeo, Italian, Skiing, Road Cycling, Jazz Music and Art

dorian-k@kurz-kurz-design.de

Nadine Ernst

Dipl. Designer
FH Aachen University of Applied Sciences

Product Design / Interior

Interests: Interior, Color and Material Trends, Golf, Cooking

ernst@kurz-kurz-design.de

Boris Schröder

Bachelor of Arts
FH Aachen University of Applied Sciences

Product Design

Interests: Longboarding, Surfing, Bulli and Traveling

schroeder@kurz-kurz-design.de

Xuerao Zhang

Dipl. Designer, Industrial Design

Folkwang University of the Arts, Essen
Bachelor of Engineering, Automotive Engineering
Tsinghua University, Peking

Interests: Handcraft, Mathematics & Geometries, Dancing, Acrobatics

zhang@kurz-kurz-design.de

Marco Gier

Bachelor of Arts
HS Niederrhein

Product Design

Interests: Drums + Guitar, Visiting Concerts, Cinema & Movie Culture
gier@kurz-kurz-design.de

Niklas Strohfeld

Freelancer - Design
Hochschule Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences

Product Design

Interests: Fieldhockey, Travelling, Mountain Biking

Aiyana Dietel

Intern - Student
Media Akademie Hochschule Stuttgart

Industrial Design

Interests: Dance, Longboarding, Painting, Mixing Cocktails

Mikey Stevenson

Intern - Student
Nottingham Trent University

Product Design

Interests: Football, Making Music, Guitar Playing

Maik Wetzstein

Intern - Student
Hochschule Osnabrück

Industrial Design

Interests: Mountain Biking, Squash, Fishing

KKD China

kkd-china-1
kkd-china-2
kkd-china-3
kkd-china-4

Kontakt

Kurz Kurz Design

Corporate Productdesign
Dunkelnberger Straße 39
D–42697 Solingen

Contact: Dorian Kurz

Tel: (+49) 212 > 33 69 83
Fax: (+49) 212 > 33 71 98

info@kurz-kurz-design.de

Kurz Kurz Design China

www.kkdesign.cn

Directions to our office

Studio

  • kurzkurzdesign-design-creates-identity
  • kurzkurzdesign-prototyping-modellbau
  • kurzkurzdesign-sketching
  • kurzkurzdesign-team_2016_neu
  • kurzkurzdesign-zwilling-twin1731

STUDIO

Mit Leidenschaft und Präzision begleiten wir unsere Kunden von der Trend- und Marktanalyse über die Designkonzeption und -detaillierung bis hin zur Markteinführung.

KURZ KURZ DESIGN

Seit 1992 sind wir ein kreativer und professioneller Designpartner für namhafte nationale und internationale Unternehmen.

Von der Klingenstadt Solingen aus entwickeln wir mit einem interdisziplinären Team und einem Netzwerk von Partnern für unsere Kunden Einzelprodukte, Produktfamilien und Designstrategien. Seit 2012 bieten wir mit einer Dependence in China professionelle Betreuung für den asiatischen Markt.

Mit einem hohen Anspruch an Ästhetik, Funktion und Detailgenauigkeit werden aus Entwürfen und Ideen begehrenswerte Produkte mit einer unverwechselbaren Identität für einen langfristigen Erfolg am Markt. Wir nennen das „design creates identity“.

kkd-solingen-2

Kompetenzen

Beratung & Strategie

Kurz Kurz Design bietet seinen Kunden ein breites Leistungsspektrum und unterstützt diese bei der Ausrichtung der Marke und der Definition des Produkt-Portfolios. Zielgruppenorientierung und eine langfristige, strategische Planung für den Erfolg der Marke stehen dabei im Vordergrund.

Schwerpunkt hierbei ist das „Corporate Product Design“. Eine durchgängige Designsprache verbindet alle Produkte einer Marke und macht sie unverwechselbar. Wir gestalten für unsere Kunden eine maßgeschneiderte und zukunftsweisende Designsprache, welche die Kompetenz der Marke zum Ausdruck bringt und zu einem einzigartigen Produkterlebnis führt.

„Um neue Impulse für die Zukunft zu setzen, heißt es Bestehendes in Frage zu stellen.“

Gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden analysieren wir die Marke und den Markt, ermitteln veränderte Bedürfnisse und Potenziale, entwickeln Ideen und Visionen, die in konkrete Maßnahmen und Produktentwicklungen münden.

icons_kompetenzen-16

Produktdesign

„Das Produkt ist der aussagekräftigste Botschafter der Marke mit der größten Kundennähe. Es sollte daher einzigartig und unverwechselbar sein.“

Vom Kinderbesteck bis zur Sanitärserie, vom LED-Solar-Strahler bis hin zur Hocheffizienzpumpe entwickeln wir innovative Designlösungen mit dem gleichzeitigen Blick auf die Marke und den Kunden. Dabei setzen wir auf eine klare, moderne Designsprache, welche die funktionale und die emotionale Seite zu einem Ganzen zusammen fügt.

Sowohl das Einzelprodukt als auch die Produktfamilie erhalten durch eine sorgfältige Analyse zu Beginn und der Liebe zum Detail am Ende das gewisse Extra für den langfristigen Erfolg und die Freude im Gebrauch.

Großen Wert legen wir dabei auf eine ganzheitliche Gestaltung. Sie beinhaltet neben der natürlichen Frage nach der Ästhetik auch die Materialgerechtigkeit, die Funktionalität und berücksichtigt die kundenspezifische Produktion, dessen Marketingstrategie und Vertriebswege.

kompetenzen-03

Interface Design

Produkte benötigen einfache, nutzerorientierte Bedienkonzepte. Für die komplexe Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Maschine entwickeln wir klar verständliche Benutzeroberflächen, die sich intuitiv erschließen und einfach bedienen lassen. Dies gilt ebenso für digitale als auch analoge Interfaces.

Gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden analysieren wir Handlungsabläufe und konzipieren aus Ideen und Anforderungen Bedienabläufe und Layouts. Mit kreativen Ideen und effizient umsetzbaren Konzepten entwickeln wir eine benutzerzentrierte Gestaltung, passend zum Produkt und zur Marke.

Mittels Videoaufzeichnungen und Interviews werden Handlungsabläufe bei der Zielgruppe erfasst und analysiert. Besonders spannend ist hierbei der Übergang von der analogen in die digitale Welt. So gilt es, eine langjährig verinnerlichte und damit sichere Bedienung in eine ebenso intuitive mit neuen Möglichkeiten zu überführen.

Vom Interface- bis zum Produktdesign: Wir konzipieren individuelle und ganzheitliche Gestaltungslösungen, die den Nutzer auf den ersten Blick begeistert und ihn bei der Bedienung optimal unterstützt.

kompetenzen-04

CAD & Modellbau

Sehen und Begreifen: zentral für eine erfolgreiche und effiziente Designentwicklung ist der Modellbau mit der parallelen Entwicklung in 3D am Computer.

Schon im frühen Stadium einer Idee wird diese durch einfache Modelle aus Styropor, Schäumen oder Karton im 1:1 Maßstab überprüft und weiterentwickelt. Ob dies ein Küchenmesser oder eine Badewanne, ob dies ein Schulrucksack oder ein Wärmespeicher ist, die Evaluierung der Form, der Proportionen, der Haptik und der Ergonomie erfolgt in mehreren Schritten bis hin zum Prototypen immer am Modell. Am Anfang steht die grobe Formfindung und am Ende die Detaillierung. Am Anfang „Handmade“ und am Ende mittels „Rapid Prototyping“.

Gemeinsam mit den Entwicklungsabteilungen und Partnern unserer Kunden werden die Projekte effizient und kontinuierlich im stetigen Austausch von 3D-Daten weiter entwickelt. Updates durch technische Veränderungen, neuen Funktionen oder Anforderungen werden eingepflegt und mit dem Design abgeglichen und visualisiert. Dies gibt sowohl uns als auch dem Kunden eine hohe Sicherheit bei der Formfindung und der Verabschiedung von Meilensteinen.

kompetenzen-05

Research & Analyse

Von der Trend- und Marktanalyse über die Designkonzeption und -detaillierung in 3D bis hin zur Markteinführung am POS begleiten wir unsere Kunden mit Leidenschaft und Präzision über den gesamten Entwicklungsprozess.

Mit über zwanzig Jahren Erfahrung verfügt Kurz Kurz Design inzwischen über eine umfangreiche Datenbank über Marken, Märkte, Zielgruppen, Trends, Materialien, Oberflächen, Technologien und Fertigungsverfahren.

Dieses Wissen wird stetig gespeist durch neue Projekte, Messebesuche, Zeitschriften- und Internetrecherchen und die Beschäftigung mit gesellschaftlichen Trends und wandelnden Bedürfnissen der Menschen.

Zentrales Tool dabei ist die Visualisierung mittels Moodboards und Mindmaps, die für alle Beteiligten aus den verschiedenen Bereichen schnell und unkompliziert zu erfassen sind. Gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden analysieren wir Handlungsabläufe mittels Videoaufzeichnungen und Interviews.

kompetenzen-02

Team

dorian

Dorian Kurz

Dipl. Designer
Folkwang Universität der Künste, Essen
Staatliche Akademie der bildenden Künste Stuttgart
1988 - 92 Phoenix Design, Stuttgart

Interessen: Alfa Romeo, Italienisch, Ski- und Rennradfahren, Jazz und Kunst

dorian-k@kurz-kurz-design.de

nadine-ernst

Nadine Ernst

Dipl. Designerin
Fachhochschule Aachen

Produktdesign/ Interior

Interessen: Interior, Farb- und Materialtrends, Golfen, Kochen, Gärtnern

ernst@kurz-kurz-design.de

boris-schroeder

Boris Schröder

Bachelor of Arts
Fachhhochschule Aachen

Produktdesign

Interessen: Longboard, Wellenreiten, Bulli und Reisen

schroeder@kurz-kurz-design.de

xuerao_zhang

Xuerao Zhang

Dipl. Designerin, Industrial Design
Folkwang Universität der Künste, Essen

Bachelor of Engineering, Fahrzeugtechnik
Tsinghua University, Peking

Interessen: Handwerk, Mathematik & Geometrie, Tanzen, Akrobatik

zhang@kurz-kurz-design.de

swenja-nienhaus

Swenja Nienhaus

Bachelor of Arts
Fachhochschule Münster

Produktdesign

Interessen: Zeichnen, Klavier spielen, Kochen

nienhaus@kurz-kurz-design.de

stefan-klocke

Stefan Klocke

Bachelor of Arts
Bergische Universität Wuppertal

Industrial Design

Interessen: Fußball, Skandinavien, Kickern

lara-schewe

Lara Schewe

Praktikantin - Studentin
Bergische Universität Wuppertal

Industrial Design

Interessen: Meine Vierbeiner, Reisen, Sport, nordischer Lifestyle/- Einrichtungsstil

erik-caetano

Erik Caetano

Praktikant - Student
PontiFícia Universidade católica do Paraná, Curitiba - Brazil

Product Design

Interessen: Reisen, Popkultur, Fotografie

pablo-neubauer

Pablo Neubauer

Praktikant - Student
Hochschule Coburg

Maschinenbau

Interessen: Basketball, Grafik Design, Fotografie, Autos, Musik

KKD China

kkd-china-1
kkd-china-2
kkd-china-3
kkd-china-4

Kontakt

Kurz Kurz Design

Corporate Productdesign
Dunkelnberger Straße 39
D–42697 Solingen

Kontakt: Dorian Kurz

Tel: (+49) 212 > 33 69 83
Fax: (+49) 212 > 33 71 98

info@kurz-kurz-design.de

Kurz Kurz Design China

www.kkdesign.cn